Who Let These 24 Breeds of Hounds Out?

The Department of Animal Husbandry and Dairying (DAHD) is inviting written comments and objections from the public regarding the prohibition on the import, breeding, and sale of 24 dog breeds. This notice was issued on May 2, 2024.

In June 2014, the DAHD issued a letter prohibiting the import, breeding, and selling of 24 dog breeds. These breeds are as follows:

  1. Pitbull Terrier,
  2. Tosa Inu,
  3. America Staffordshire Terrier,
  4. Fila Brasileiro,
  5. Dogo Argentino,
  6. American Bulldog,
  7. Boerboel,
  8. Kangal,
  9. Central Asian Shepherd Dog (ovcharka),
  10. Caucasian Shepherd Dog (ovcharka),
  11. South Russian Shepherd Dog (ovcharka),
  12. Tornjak,
  13. Sarplaninac,
  14. Japanese Tosa and
  15. Akita,
  16. Mastiffs (boerbulls),
  17. Rottweiler,
  18. Terriers,
  19. Rhodesian Ridgeback,
  20. Wolf dogs,
  21. Canario,
  22. Akbash dog,
  23. Moscow Guard dog
  24. Cane corso

It may also be noted that the Karnataka and Delhi High Courts have since challenged the order.

The DAHD is seeking public feedback on the 2014 order. Comments must be submitted by June 1, 2024.

How to Submit Comments

  • Written comments with scientific reasoning can be sent by registered post to Dr. O.P. Chauhdary, Joint Secretary, DAHD.
  • Comments can also be submitted electronically to jspf-dadf@nic.in.